This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Overriding RequestComAddInAutomationService (Excel Ribbon Add-In)

Jan 9, 2013 at 9:37 AM

First of all thanks a lot for the NetOffice package and your support. I'm currently studying ribbon add-ins in Excel to see if it's a viable route for a project, but I'm having a problem with the execution of some of the add-in's functions from VBA.

I used your "Custom Ribbon Icons Example[Visual Basic]" project (http://netoffice.codeplex.com/wiki/PageInfo?title=Download%20Page) as basis for the addin and followed the instructions found here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-gb/library/vstudio/bb608614.aspx

However when trying to override RequestComAddInAutomationService in my Public Class Addin I get as error: "function 'RequestComAddInAutomationService' cannot be declared 'Overrides' because it does not override a function in a base class"

Should I do anything special for VBA <-> AddIn communication using NetOffice?

Thanks

Coordinator
Jan 11, 2013 at 6:28 PM

sorry for the delay. i got no notifications at the moment for new discussions. nothing at all. NOT! :(

RequestComAddinAutomationService is a special VSTO service. VSTO is specific handmade framework from MS to use Office in .NET
NetOffice isn't an opponent to VSTO at the moment. NetOffice is just a substitute for the Interop Assemblies. but anyway, you can use it also in NetOffice(or Interop Assemblies)

1) define the IAddInUtilities/AddInUtilities, define also a guid attribute for the AddInUtilities class
2) fill the Object property in the OnConnection procedure
example:
void ThisAddin_OnConnection(object Application, ext_ConnectMode ConnectMode, object AddInInst, ref Array custom){
{
    AddInInst.GetType().InvokeMember("Object", BindingFlags.SetProperty, null, AddInInst, new object[] {new AddInUtilities});
}

now you can use the addIn.Object in the same way from VBA.