This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

SHIMMING

Jan 7, 2012 at 8:38 PM

I'm from Argentina. I'm an engineer and for several years I have developed analysis tools using Excel and VBA. Last year I decided it was time to change and now I'm slowly developing my tools in .NET (C#)
I've been exploring your fantastic project for about three weeks. I was able to combine DNA/NetOfficefollow your examples for developing COM Add-ins using only NetOffice (I prefer this approach because I did not find similar tools for Word or PowerPoint DNA), etc..
And now I have the following concerns: Many authors recommend Shimming:  avoid  MSCOREE.DLL Hell (eg Andrew Whitechapel).

Your examples finish a step before, registering the dll as they have been compiled.
What are your recommendations?
Have you tried shimming the solution?
You have developed an example we can follow?

Thanks
Marco

Jan 8, 2012 at 8:17 PM

hello marco,

the following workarround works with NetOffice and the MS Interop Assemblies as well.

1.) Make sure you have VC++ installed in Visual Studio
2.) Install the COM Shim Wizard for VS2010 http://blogs.msdn.com/b/mshneer/archive/2010/03/19/com-shim-wizards-for-vs-2010.aspx
3.) Create a Addin project with NetOffice or Interop assemblies
4.) don register this addin project for COM Interop
5.) add a COM Shim project to the solution, follow the wizard and read http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb508939.aspx#IsolatingMicrosoftExtensionsCOMShimWizard2-3_HowtheCOMShimWizardWorks
6.) now you have a native Shim proxy for your addin(need a register with regsvr32 or install api on other systems)

i create an excel addin sample and add the project to the download section

*best regards to Argentina
Sebastian

Jan 8, 2012 at 11:01 PM

Thank you very much,

It's amazing you can respond so quickly!

I downloaded your example and I will try your recommendations this week.