Querying with LINQ

Jul 24, 2012 at 4:17 AM
Edited Jul 24, 2012 at 4:43 AM

Hi Sebastian,

Thank you for your contribution to CodePlex. Netoffice is an excellent library. I am relatively new to C#, and I was wondering if you knew the answer to this question.

I like the syntax of LINQ and wanted to query the properties of an Access QueryDef as follows:

List<dao.Property> resultProps =
                (from dao.Property prop in myQueryDef.Properties.ToArray<dao.Property>()
                    where prop.Name == PROPERTY_NAME1 || prop.Name == PROPERTY_NAME2
                        select prop).ToList<dao.Property>();

Will doing this cause a memory leak because I'm not calling prop.Dispose() for each iteration? I could use a foreach statement, but I like the LINQ syntax and was hoping to use it.  I suspect it is a bad idea because I think that a dao.Property array is created with ToArray(), and even though only 2 items get returned in the list, there are no references to the rest of the array, and Dispose() cannot get called.

Jul 24, 2012 at 4:59 AM
Edited Jul 24, 2012 at 5:02 AM

I used a pretty simple workaround:

List<dao.Property> props = myQueryDef.Properties.ToList<dao.Property>();

List<dao.Property> resultProps =
	(from prop in props
	 where prop.Name == PROPERTY_NAME1 || prop.Name == PROPERTY_NAME2
	 select prop).ToList();

//... do something ...

props.ForEach(i => {i.Dispose(); });
resultProps.ForEach(i => { i.Dispose(); });

I assume I have to call Dispose() for all items in both lists-- is that right, or do I not need to re-call it for the 2 items that get returned from the LINQ?

Coordinator
Jul 24, 2012 at 7:17 AM

hello,

the easiest way is to use is:

myQueryDef.DisposeChildInstances();

these method dispose all created childs from myQueryDef. in this case Properties and all child proxies from Properties.
DisposeChildInstances() is implemented for all classes in NetOffice.

currently i try to create a more intelligent Linq support in NetOffice.